10 Stupid Proposals

Hang around on Facebook long enough, and you’re going to encounter a few clickjacked links.

Recently, I spotted one that had been passed along by a good friend of mine who is usually pretty tech-savvy. The link promised a video of 10 stupid marriage proposals that guys have used. That actually sounded like something she would have posted, so I clicked on the link.

It didn’t take more than a few seconds to realize that I’d been made a sucker.

The website asked me to fill out a survey before watching the video. Great, I thought. I just got clickjacked. At that point, nothing I did was going to change anything. In fact, I’d probably already been nailed when I reached the page.

I closed out my Web browser, opened another, and logged back on to Facebook. There was all the proof that I needed. My wall now said that I had “liked’ the link, along with the friend who spread it to me.

So, what did I do in this situation.

The very first thing that I want to do is prevent my other friends from following the link, so I immediately posted a wall comment that something along the lines of “don’t follow that stupid link about the marriage proposal. It’s a clickjack.”

Telling my friends, however, isn’t really going to solve the problem. Facebook now has an option that allows you to report spam. Just move your cursor to the upper-right hand corner of your post. A box will appear that gives you the option to report the comment as spam.

Assuming that Facebook is paying attention, taking part in the reporting process should help identify and eliminate clickjacks more quickly.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

