Free 4G iPhone! Suuuuuure.

Facebook hoaxes often promise big rewards for doing next to nothing. Here’s a particularly obvious scam that I recently found:

OH MY GOSH! I know I shouldn’t talk about this here in facebook, but I thought I
would message you from my new APPLE IPHONE 4G that I just got for free.
Don’t tell anyone but there is a website sending out free iPhone 4G to
anyone that signs up, http://www.giveaway-madness.com That is where I got mine btw
follow these steps exactly to get one for yourself, go http://www.giveaway-madness.com enter you email,
enter your shipping address and wait 3-5 business days to receive your it in the mail!
it works!!

Here’s how you know that this is crap.

First off, no one is going to give you a free iPhone just for doing this. What’s the incentive? How would anyone make money off this? What would they promote? They don’t seem to get a lot in return.

Second, the message itself sounds moronic. The writer claims that he or she shouldn’t be posting this on Facebook. Why? If a website really were giving away free iPhones as some sort of promotion, then they would want people to post their link on Fb.

Third, I have a hard time believing that this was written by someone who has a firm grasp of English. Perhaps I expect too much from fellow native speakers, but  this is rubbish.  The last sentence alone screams “I learned just enough English to scam you.”

My recommendation: avoid, reject, criticize.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Free 4G iPhone! Suuuuuure.”

  1. T Ruth Hazie Says:

    How exactly could my friend’s account get click-jacked and how can it be fixed so it doesn’t continue? Variation as just shared unwillingly wall-to-wall with three friends 20 minutes ago:
    “OH MY GOSH! I know I shouldn’t talk about this here in facebook, but I thought I would message you from my new APPLE iPad that I just got for free. Don’t tell anyone but there is a website sending out free iPad to anyone that signs up, http://www.mad-gifts.com That is where I got mine btw follow these steps exactly to get one for yourself, go ww…w.mad-gifts.com enter you email,
    enter your shipping address and wait 3-5 business days to receive your it in the mail! it works!!”

  2. Cleveland Pinkney Says:

    Kool site

  3. kasey hines Says:

    i hope this works

  4. Fran Kitson Says:

    How does this free ipad work I’m a Mac girl all the way!


Leave a Reply

